Wreck Diving in Subic Bay

Three weeks ago, I had the chance to dive some great wrecks in Subic Bay. I even got to see the inside of two of them as part of PADI’s Wreck Diver course. The water in the bay was a warm 28C, but visibility was pretty low, maxing out at about 8 meters.

The first ship that we penetrated was the USS New York. It was a Navy Cruiser that was intentionally sunk in 1941 to keep it from falling into Japanese hands. Descending along the anchor-line was very eery. I couldn’t see anything but the rope on the way down due to the low vis of the site. All of a sudden, the outline of the old ship jumped out at me and before I knew it, I was right on top of it.

Here is Andy, my instructor, laying out our safety line.

He got a good shot of this plaque that was put up inside the ship. We actually swam a few meters past the sign, up the stairwell, and peaked into the engine room. Andy is an experienced technical diver and has spent countless hours inside this wreck.

The second ship we went into was El Capitan. El Capitan was a freighter sunk by bad weather in 1946. This is me practicing my buoyancy before going inside.

Here I am inside. The little bit of light filtering through didn’t help me see anything, it just made everything spooky.

Time to get out


Another notable wreck was the San Quentin, which was sunk by the Spanish in 1898 during the Spanish-American War. Not much was left of this ship but the boilers were easily distinguishable.

In addition to the many historic wrecks, there was some nice marine life in the bay.

We saw a couple of these Spotted Blue Rays

School of Jack Fish

Octopus

Scorpion Fish

Here, we were approaching the beach of the Subic Bay Freeport Zone (the old Navy base). There was a beautiful sunset here the day prior, but my camera’s batteries were dead before we made it in.

The beachfront in front of my resort

I stayed at the Arizona International Resort for the week and couldn’t have been happier with their accommodations.

I had a great time in Subic Bay and, even though this was a solo trip, I think the whole family would’ve enjoyed it here.

Next time I will definitely bring a wide-angle lens for my underwater camera.

Next stop, Moalboal!

Check out Scuba Tech Philippines if you want to dive on any of these wrecks and don’t forget to visit my Flickr for more pictures.

~ by Mike on June 28, 2011.

3 Responses to “Wreck Diving in Subic Bay”

  1. VERY IMPRESSIVE………. LOVE TO VISIT AND DIVE.

  2. I’ve learn a few just right stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how so much effort you place to create this type of fantastic informative site.

  3. Great pics! We have posted a link to this album on our facebook page. For anyone interested in diving at Subic Bay read more about the bay, all the dive sites, diving in general and other activities offered by visiting below website, dive safe everyone!

    http://www.elcoralreefdivecenter.com
    http://www.facebook.com/elcorelreefdivecenter

Leave a Reply

 
